Posts Tagged ‘hip hop’


Big Boi Vicious Lies and Dangerous Rumors Album Review @PolicyMic

December 16, 2012

Picture 3

My review of Big Boi’s Dangerous Lies and Vicious Rumors up on PolicyMic –> Hip Hop at its most ambitious and visionary.

I know I been slacking on this whole WordPress thing. I find WordPress dashboard setup to be too awkward and complex for writing my posts. Too much cybereffort. I got other cybershit doing, which is easier to execute and is more rewarding for contentconsumers and I. WordPress can go suck a hyperlink.

How funny would it be if WordPress censored me for writing this? Check back in a few days to see if CONCRETE CARNIVAL is still up. Check back in a week to see a link for my TOP 10 ALBUMS OF 2012 that’ll also be going up on PolicyMic.



TNGHT Mission Statement Mix

September 6, 2012

Did I mention I’m really into these hours-long broadcast mixes lately? This is one from TNGHT, the collaborative electronic musichild of beat makers Lunice and Hudson Mohawke. They call this mix their “Mission Statement”. They tracks they’ve blended sum up their sound very well. Full of heavy, hollow, crunchy, beats, and syrupy chopped and screwed bangers.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and make a little metaphor for TNGHT’s sound, try and follow me: ANTS ON A LOG.

The backbone, the beats of their music are like celery: crunchy, fresh, cool, full of H2O=fluid, and a little green=vibrant and good to smoke to. Then you’ve got your peanut butter: the substance. It’s that heavy, thick, oily, pusedo-dissonant vibe their music has. The dissonance comes when you can’t get the peanut butter off the roof of your mouth. Then line it with raisins. TNGHT’s music is full of those sweet moments, when everything just clicks, the layers the space, everything, and it sends those tingles of pleasure through your mind and body. You feel them. Sweet to the palette.

Listen to the beats on the TNGHT album and this mix and think about it.

Check out the full tracklist below. Download the mix if you want it forever.

1. John Carpenter – “Back to the Pod (Version 2)”
2. SpaceGhostPurrp – “Get Yah Head Bust”
3. Dj Zirk – “Lock Em In Da Trunk (Chopped & Screwed Tommy Kruise Remix)”
4. Lil Ugly Mane feat. Denzel Curry – “Twistin'”
5. Jackie Chain feat. Bun B & Big K.R.I.T. – “Parked Outside”
6. Lady Bee – “Hard Like a Criminal”
7. Dj Squeeky & Tha Family – “Death to You Playa Hata”
8. Snoop Dogg feat. Master P – “Snoop World”
9. Lunice – “Youngin (Paper) (forthcoming LuckyMe)”
10. TNGHT – B”ugg’N (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
11. 2Chainz feat. Drake – “No Lie”
12. Lunice – “Believe Dat (forthcoming LuckyMe)”
13. TNGHT – “Ridin Up”
14. Chief Keef feat. Kanye West, Pusha T, Big Sean & Jadakiss – “I Don’t Like (Remix)”
15. TNGHT – “Goooo (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
16. GOOD Music – “Mercy x Furnace”
17. Hudson Mo – “Chimes”
18. Sasha Go Hard – “I’m Hotta”
19. Zebra Katz x Boyfriend – “Winter Titty”
20. Decibel – “GAP”
21. TNGHT – “Bounce Hitum”
22. Waka Flocka Flame – “Rooster in my Rari (TNGHT official remix)”
23. TNGHT – “Higher Ground (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
24. Stabber – “Torsion Force”
25. S-Type – “Billboard (forthcoming LuckyMe)”
26. TNGHT – “Go Get Busy (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
27. Zodiac – “Girlgirlgirl”
28. John Carpenter – “Over the Wall”


DOOM Re-emerges!

September 6, 2012

The SuperVillain takes over BBC Radio to announce his return to the world, with a two hour all-DOOM broadcast on the Benji B Radio 1 show. The Metal Face has been cryogenically frozen in his secret volcano lair for past three years, chilling, brooding, plotting his next menacing assault on the citizens of the world.

The BBC Radio takeover comes on the coattails of his newest and unexpected JJ Doom release Keys To The Kuffs. A full album stream of that johnny cake can be found here. Definitely worth many listens.

We’ve been waiting on a ton of promised projects from this dude for a while now. He mentions them, says they’re coming, he’s working them all simultaneously: new Madvillain, a Ghostface-collab DOOMSTARKS album. Bets on which comes out first and which never comes out at all?

Anyway, the radio broadcast and the album stream probably won’t be up too much longer, so get um while they’re still fresh. Fuck stale music.