TNGHT Mission Statement Mix

September 6, 2012

Did I mention I’m really into these hours-long broadcast mixes lately? This is one from TNGHT, the collaborative electronic musichild of beat makers Lunice and Hudson Mohawke. They call this mix their “Mission Statement”. They tracks they’ve blended sum up their sound very well. Full of heavy, hollow, crunchy, beats, and syrupy chopped and screwed bangers.

I’m going to go out on a limb here and make a little metaphor for TNGHT’s sound, try and follow me: ANTS ON A LOG.

The backbone, the beats of their music are like celery: crunchy, fresh, cool, full of H2O=fluid, and a little green=vibrant and good to smoke to. Then you’ve got your peanut butter: the substance. It’s that heavy, thick, oily, pusedo-dissonant vibe their music has. The dissonance comes when you can’t get the peanut butter off the roof of your mouth. Then line it with raisins. TNGHT’s music is full of those sweet moments, when everything just clicks, the layers the space, everything, and it sends those tingles of pleasure through your mind and body. You feel them. Sweet to the palette.

Listen to the beats on the TNGHT album and this mix and think about it.

Check out the full tracklist below. Download the mix if you want it forever.

1. John Carpenter – “Back to the Pod (Version 2)”
2. SpaceGhostPurrp – “Get Yah Head Bust”
3. Dj Zirk – “Lock Em In Da Trunk (Chopped & Screwed Tommy Kruise Remix)”
4. Lil Ugly Mane feat. Denzel Curry – “Twistin'”
5. Jackie Chain feat. Bun B & Big K.R.I.T. – “Parked Outside”
6. Lady Bee – “Hard Like a Criminal”
7. Dj Squeeky & Tha Family – “Death to You Playa Hata”
8. Snoop Dogg feat. Master P – “Snoop World”
9. Lunice – “Youngin (Paper) (forthcoming LuckyMe)”
10. TNGHT – B”ugg’N (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
11. 2Chainz feat. Drake – “No Lie”
12. Lunice – “Believe Dat (forthcoming LuckyMe)”
13. TNGHT – “Ridin Up”
14. Chief Keef feat. Kanye West, Pusha T, Big Sean & Jadakiss – “I Don’t Like (Remix)”
15. TNGHT – “Goooo (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
16. GOOD Music – “Mercy x Furnace”
17. Hudson Mo – “Chimes”
18. Sasha Go Hard – “I’m Hotta”
19. Zebra Katz x Boyfriend – “Winter Titty”
20. Decibel – “GAP”
21. TNGHT – “Bounce Hitum”
22. Waka Flocka Flame – “Rooster in my Rari (TNGHT official remix)”
23. TNGHT – “Higher Ground (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
24. Stabber – “Torsion Force”
25. S-Type – “Billboard (forthcoming LuckyMe)”
26. TNGHT – “Go Get Busy (forthcoming Warp X LuckyMe)”
27. Zodiac – “Girlgirlgirl”
28. John Carpenter – “Over the Wall”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: